As an administrator you have access to options which can change the design and functionality of your site. These options are accessed through the administrator toolbar, the black strip across the top of your screen which is available when you log into Drupal.
When you select an item from the menu, an overlay screen appears displaying a set of options. Notice the name of the overlay, the tabs which display related options and the X to close without saving.
A Save or Save configuration button is on the bottom of each overlay screen. It is absolutely critical that you remember to click Save to preserve any changes. Then click the X to close the overlay.